Black Key Bulls win Spring Series, will wear white jersey

With both Beta Theta Pi and Phi Delta Theta not qualifying for the finals of Team Pursuit, Black Key Bulls, currently with the top men’s time, will win the Spring Series.

It is the first time in team-history Black Key Bulls will wear the white jersey on race day as winners of the Spring Series. The team started racing in 2006.

BKB entered Sunday with a 1-point lead on Beta and a 2-point lead on pole-sitter Phi Delta Theta. It ran a 9:21.16 at Team Pursuit, more than five seconds faster than the Phi Delts and 13 seconds faster than Beta. With Cutters running the second fastest time, it guarantees that neither Phi Delts or Beta will be in the final.

It is the second year in a row an independent team will wear the white jersey, with Cutters wearing it last year.

BKB started its strong spring with three riders in the top-11 at ITTs, the second-best performance behind Phi Delts. BKB had six riders in the top 19 of the Individual Time Trials.

At Miss ‘N Out, Jacob Miller finished fourth overall for Black Key Bulls. Steven Gomez and Spencer Brauchla also advanced to the semifinals. Phi Delts also had three riders in the semifinals, but none advanced to the finals. Beta had two riders in the finals, including the winner, Chris Craig, but its next best rider only advanced as far as the quarterfinals.

The other notable jersey colors on race day will be Phi Delts wearing green (awarded to pole-sitter) and Beta wearing yellow (awarded to last year’s race-winner).

Join the Discussion

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s